Do the toilets really flush backwards? (And other things you always wanted to know about Australia)

I’m sorry it’s been so long since I last posted! I’ve been doing so many cool things and I just haven’t had a chance to sit down and blog, but here it is!

  • Do the toilets flush backwards? Trick question. Most of Australia has “low-flow” toilets that use less water but they don’t really flush around the bowl like in the US. Gravity does most of the work and it just flows down.

    Australian Low-Flow Toilet

    Australian Low-Flow Toilet

  • Kangaroos are not just hanging out around people, I have yet to see a wild kangaroo. But I also haven’t gotten out of the city much. I hear that kangaroos do jump across the roads in the more rural areas which makes it dangerous to drive at night outside of the city.
  • People don’t say “G’day mate” as much as stereotypes would have you believe. They do say “How are you going?” instead of “How are you doing?”
  • I’m told that Aussies love a good BBQ but they do not “throw shrimp on the barbie.”
  • Yes, Australia has its origins from convict deportations from England, but not all of the country was founded in this way (as my Australian history class spent nearly four weeks discussing.)
  • I have not met any Aussies named Sheila or Bruce, nor have I heard anyone refer to anyone as such.
  • Australians don’t have graham crackers ( They also don’t have “normal” marshmallows so no s’mores… bummer)
  • Aussies love their sports! Aussie rules foot ball (“footy”) is HUGE here! It’s a really fun sport to watch and after watching the Fremantle Dockers make it to the Grand Final (Aussie equivalent of the Super Bowl) I’m starting to get the hang of it.
    Patterson Stadium aka Subiaco Oval - Home of the Fremantle Dockers

    Patterson Stadium aka Subiaco Oval – Home of the Fremantle Dockers

     

    Me and Katie at a Dockers game

    Me and Katie at a Dockers game

    It seems like a combination of pretty much every sport out there – Football, soccer, rugby, maybe even wrestling. You can kick, throw, bounce, and run with the ball. You can only run a few meters before you have to bounce the ball back to yourself or pass it to someone. There are three goal posts on each end of the oval. If you get the ball through the middle two posts, it’s worth six points. If you get it through the outside poles, it’s worth one point. They don’t wear any pads but they tackle each other like crazy. It’s really fast paced and super fun to watch.

  • I got to watch the Grand Final and see all the hype first hand. Here is a look at the madness!

Grand Final excitement all over Freo

Grand Final excitement all over Freo

 

Crowds filling the street to watch the Grand Final on the big screen

Crowds filling the street to watch the Grand Final on the big screen

I’ve had such an amazing time here the past two months and I can’t wait to tell you all about the adventures that I have coming up during the rest of my adventure!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Do the toilets really flush backwards? (And other things you always wanted to know about Australia)

  1. Megan S

    You are so cute!! I love that you’re having such a fabulous time. Miss you and can’t wait to see you in a few months, twin! ❤

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.